# **B.** Riney Green Award: Access to Justice Award

#### **PURPOSE**

This award is a way to recognize and emphasize the value the access to justice community has for a particular kind of accomplishment – one that promotes statewide collaboration on a project beyond one organization and strengthens access to justice across the state.

## **HISTORY**

One of the strengths of the provision of legal service in Tennessee has been the historic tradition of working together, across program lines, to address common problems that clients and programs face. To recognize and encourage those efforts, a person who promotes inter-program cooperation or otherwise strengthens the provision of legal aid in Tennessee is annually named the B. Riney Green Award recipient.

In the late 1990s B. Riney Green, a Nashville attorney, relentlessly led Tennessee's effort to prevent the U.S. House and Senate from adopting provisions that would reduce funding to legal services and increase restrictions on legal aid programs. As a corporate lawyer and a Republican, he was a new and credible voice in this effort. He successfully engaged others in his effort and had access to representatives from across the party and ideological spectrum. His efforts in this state not only improved relations with the Congressional delegation, but



were essential to the successful national effort to resist these legislative attacks.

This award is named to honor his contribution at a critical time in the history of legal

services in Tennessee and the nation.

## **HOW TO NOMINATE SOMEONE**

Nominations are currently closed.

## **PAST WINNERS**

2024	Amy Willoughby Bryant
2023	Allison Jones & Chancellor Ellen Hobbs Lytle
2022 McKanders	Tessa Lemos Del Pino, Bethany Jackson & Karla
2021	No Award Given
2020	Spring Miller & Emily Stotts
2019	Jeannie Kosciolek
2018	Marcia Eason & Gary Housepian
2017	Carol Gish & Ashley Holliday
2016	Craig Barnes & Russell Fowler
2015	Lenny Croce
2014	Theresa Vay-Smith
2013	Gordon Bonnyman & Harrison McIver III
2012	Margaret Behm
2011	Beth Bates & Russ Overby
2010	David Tarpley
2009	Adinah Robertson
2008	Pam Ford Wright & Bill Bush

2007	Frank Cantrell
2006	Sherry Wilds
2005	Jennifer Jean Rosenbaum & Steve Xanthopoulos
2004	Mary Michelle Gillum
2003	Doug Blaze
2002	Pat Mock
2001	Stewart Clifton, Bill Haley & Mike Murphy
2000	Linda Seely & Patti George
1999	Bonnie King, Gloria Samuels & Christine Wolfe

Return to the Access to Justice Awards page.

Return to the Equal Justice University homepage.

Last updated on September 04, 2024.

Print

Table of Contents

**NEWS** 

#### **News & publications**

The news about recent activities for needed peoples.

#### More News

2 Aug 2024

Tennessee Alliance for Legal Services Seeks Part-Time Civil Legal Helpline Staff Attorney Job SummaryAre you looking for a part-time position where you can serve clients...

### **Continue Reading**

20 Feb 2024

Memphis Area Legal Services Seeks New Executive Director

Position Description: Memphis Area Legal Services (MALS) seeks an...

**Continue Reading**